Long Time No See

DSC_0169edit2.jpg

Okay, maybe it’s only been a couple months but that’s way too long. Things haven’t been super busy, which makes me even more sad because I actually had time to blog.  *sniff*  Since I missed the end-of-September post, here are a few updates.

The September Writing Challenge

wood

So…..I’m just going to say it. I failed.  Yup. I started off strong, but after creating a very in-depth outline with scenes and individual character arcs I just couldn’t get myself to write. I am officially declaring myself a pantser. I think trying to plan too much was part of the reason the story didn’t stick (the other part was just not making myself write. Good job, Madison).  The characters didn’t interest me anymore and creating a whole new outline 10+ days into the challenge didn’t sound too appealing at the time.

I will try again once I get on my new schedule for the semester and get into a habit of writing.  I’m telling you, not writing this summer really threw me off!

My Birthday!

SO excited! I’m officially an ADULT, guys.  I turned 18 on September 30th and had a wonderful amazingly awesome day.  First off, Seth somehow convinced me to drive to the gym super early to work out on my birthday.  What can I say – I’m easily swayed by that cute fella’.  After I got home, we started off with some French Silk Pie – our family’s version of birthday cake – before going shopping at the mall.

20160930_105336

Around 4:30 that evening, Seth came to our house and picked me up.  He told me I was getting my nails done before heading to a surprise restaurant.  That boy  <3.   We didn’t take any pictures for some reason (WHY???) but after getting my toes and fingers done, he drove us into Austin while I attempted to guess where we were going.  As we drove in the Domain (a shopping center) in Austin, I couldn’t wipe the smile off my face.  All the restaurants looked so nice – there was even a valet service for a few of them.  We decided to walk the couple hundred yards instead haha.

The Italian restaurant he chose was amazing. The lights were dim and there was a revolving door to get inside. Guys, a revolving door.I felt like I was 5, nearly jumping up in down because I love revolving doors.  Seth joked afterwards that I got more of a kick out of the doorway than the actual restaurant!

New Job

I got a new job at a cute little pecan shop on the way into town. Not much to update here, but just throwing this up here since I mentioned it above. 🙂

Finally Finished Applications

I FINALLY finished applying to my top four colleges this week.  A few weeks after I planned to but it’s still before the deadline so I’m happy!  Now I just have to wait.

Writing

Since I failed the previous writing challenge, I’m going to get on a schedule with school and work before I try another one. Which is why I’m not participating in NaNoWriMo this November.  (If you are interested, however, definitely check it out here!)

BUT I will be trying to produce more planned posts on here (not these rushed, draft-to-published-in-one-day ones).

2

One of my most popular posts on this blog has been the Open When Letters tutorial, which has received about 20% of my total blog views.  I’ve been brainstorming a few more DIY tutorials to add on here because of this!


 

Sorry for the longish ramble and disappearance….I’ll be back!

2 thoughts on “Long Time No See

  1. Skye October 26, 2016 / 7:52 am

    Sounds like you had a lovely birthday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

