August Wrap-Up

Boy, was August crazy and long. So much happened – bear with me!

IMG_0387[1]

//Camp ending.  Last day of camp was such a relief yet was a much harder day than I thought.  After the last day of actual work, the camp had a serve day where volunteers could come in and help us do random projects to get ready for retreat season. We only ended up with a couple volunteers since the humidity was 187.293% (believe me; that’s what it felt like) and it rained all afternoon. After volunteers and full time staff left, all the summer staff met together under the dining hall patio and said goodbye. We prayed, talked as everyone tried to keep it together, and ended with most everyone crying. I managed to stay dry-eyed until we started singing hymns in a circle and I couldn’t stop bawling as I walked to my car. Where did that anxiousness to leave camp go??? It was an AMAZING experience (that you’ll hear more about once I get those team pictures) and I’m so glad I did it even though I couldn’t keep being home with everyone off my mind in the last few weeks.  I’m going to miss these people.

IMG_0279[1]
The end-of-summer banquet.

//San Antonio Tournament.

IMG_0325[1]
LOTS of games

Three out of four little siblings play soccer and they all had a soccer tournament in San Antonio for a weekend.  After they played four games total, the rest of the games were canceled because of rain but we still had a great time! We arrived to San Antonio the day before to spend a little vacation at a nicer hotel, so we were able to spend more time in the hotel water park for the rest of the weekend. So much fun.

//Texas formal.  My mom has been organizing dance lessons and formal dances for the last year at our church, and this month we had a Texas Formal dance.  A Texas Formal is basically jeans, boots, and button-downs for the guys and sundresses and boots for the ladies. We ended up with around 55 kids this year and it was a blast.

IMG_0385[1]
Cha-Cha Slide.

Think lights, a Texas flag photo backdrop, quilt-covered hay bales, and glass bottle sodas. The best part is everybody knows everyone now that the same kids have been coming to the dances for the last few months.

IMG_0386[1]
In front of the Texas flag backdrop.

//Mo Ranch.  Every year my grandfather takes us all to Mo Ranch, a park (I guess that’s what you could call it) on the Guadalupe River in the Hill Country for a mini vacation.

IMG_0392[1]

We just got back yesterday evening after three days in a beautiful house on a hill in Mo Ranch. The days were filled with volleyball, swimming, poker and cribbage games, canoeing, playing in the rapids, and amazing views.

20160829_111930
“Let’s all watch the ball!”
20160831_120925
Seth canoeing my grandma to the rapids.

Blogging

I’ve been home for a little less than 3 weeks and only managed to squeeze a couple posts in, but I can’t wait to get back into the saddle!

Page views: 58
Followers: 2
Posts: 2
Most popular post:  DIY Open When Letters

-Maddy


How was your August? Do anything fun? What are your plans for September?

2 thoughts on “August Wrap-Up

  1. Abigayle Ellison September 1, 2016 / 5:09 pm

    Wow, you were busy!! It looks like you had so much fun, though! 🙂 I’m so glad that the camp turned into such a great experience for you. And I love seeing pictures of you and Seth!! They always make me smile ^.^ I hope September brings a more moderate level of fun for you 🙂 And I love your new header image!!

    Like

    • missmaddycakes September 3, 2016 / 3:26 pm

      Thank you!! It was so much fun. And I’m glad you love the pictures – we need to take more 🙂 Thanks! I’m still tweaking it but was too excited to get a new one out that I jumped the gun a little haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

