Draw Without Mercy

I’ve mentioned a couple times that I’ve started researching colleges for next year. *hyperventilates* I have no clue what I’m doing – major, minor, dorms…..oh yes, and the UNIVERSITY! Fun stuff.

While looking at my top universities, the choice of a major has been frustrating. Loving English and art doesn’t help me much since I don’t have an interest in teaching either of those.  One of my best friends recently told me that I could mix two of my interests if one doesn’t suffice for a career. At first I thought she was trying to be helpful but it wouldn’t actually end in a job that would make any money – I was wrong! She suggested that I could teach therapy art to children in the hospital (mixing art and nursing, another top option for me) as one job. I’ll definitely need to consider options like this before I take art off my choice list.

Sorry, I get off on bunny trails often.

Back on subject….

JOL_EXAKT12

Whether or not I decide to study art in the future, I love drawing. More often than not it ends with a little piece to criticize until you hate it. *cough* I mean love!

Draw all the time. Draw when you feel like it, draw when you don’t, and draw all the times in between.

You’ll have drawings you love

IMG_20160303_182249

…drawings you just can’t get right

IMG_20160328_151123

Poor little Steve’s face.

…drawings experimenting with different styles

…pages of unfinished sketches

20160329_164639

…and one’s you want to burn immediately and don’t want to finish.

But DRAW WITHOUT MERCYDon’t give up on it if you just can’t get something right. *realizes I literally just said I gave up on above* Also don’t be like me. Like me can be bad.

~Maddy

What are some of your favorite things to draw?  What medium do you prefer? 

Leave a Reply

