My 7 Minute Makeup Routine

*I am by no means a professional. Everything I do is based purely on experimentation and may not be the best way to do it*

I never can pull off lots of makeup and envy the ladies who can look amazing in heavy eye shadow and a bold lipstick. With my heavy eyelids, even my eyeliner rubs off on my top lid so I don’t even wear it often. And I don’t particularly like bringing attention to my braces by sporting a red lipstick.

But I still love putting on makeup and attempt to follow a short routine every morning for a more natural look. Here’s how I do it!

IMG_1522

First off, start with a clean slate. Enjoy my darling puffy eyes and fresh-out-of-the-shower hair.

IMG_1524

Now throw that hair into a bun and lather up your favorite face wash. You’ll look lovely, I promise. Ignore the fact that you’ll have to redo your hair again.

IMG_1526

Next prep your face for the heavier makeup – either with lotion or BB cream. I like to squeeze and wipe the BB cream directly on my face instead of on the beauty blender. It’s faster.

IMG_1527

Now blend it in with the beauty blender.

IMG_1528

Next grab your “heavier” makeup, or whatever you want to use to cover up blemishes, acne, or scars.

IMG_1529

Dip the tip of the beauty blender in the foundation and dab it under your eyes and over acne/red spots. Try not to put this heavy makeup all over your face – we’re emphasizing our natural beauty, not covering it up, ladies. Now blend it in.

IMG_1530

Grab your powder and dust a light layer over your entire face, to set the foundation and help blend everything. I always feel like those rich ladies in the movies who send up a cloud of dust as they smother their faces in the gigantic, soft pillow-like brushes. Where can I find one of those brushes??? Sorry, I’m weird.

IMG_1531

Brush some blush over those cheeks – curving from the apple up on your cheekbones to almost your temple.

IMG_1532

Put on a one or two of five layers of mascara.

IMG_1533

I was born without the thick, luscious lashes and brows so some days I add a brow pencil to my routine.

IMG_1534

Finish up with your favorite lip gloss or chap stick….

IMG_1545

…and you’re done! Quick, simple, and not loads of makeup!

What is your makeup routine?

~Maddy

 

Leave a Reply

